Vietnam.vn - Nền tảng quảng bá Việt Nam

FIFA referee points out his colleague's mistake when awarding a penalty to England

Báo Tiền PhongBáo Tiền Phong11/07/2024

TPO - According to Jonas Eriksson, a FIFA referee, the penalty of the England team in the EURO 2024 semi-final match with the Netherlands was "unbelievable".
FIFA referee points out his colleague's mistake when awarding a penalty to England team photo 1

Dumfries's tackle on Kane led to a penalty.

Gareth Southgate's men have reached the EURO 2024 final, their second consecutive appearance in the final of the European Championship, thanks to a 2-1 win over the Netherlands. The Netherlands took an early lead in the 7th minute thanks to a superb long-range strike from Xavi Simons, but England had a chance to equalise from a penalty. And this was the centre of controversy in the match. In the 16th minute, Kane attempted to shoot but his touch was off target, causing the ball to miss the target. However, in that incident, Denzel Dumfries was penalised for kicking the England captain in the leg. VAR intervened and after reviewing the footage on the pitchside monitor, referee Felix Zwayer immediately pointed to the penalty spot. The Dutch players were furious with the referee's decision. Despite their protests, the decision was carried out. Kane stepped up to level the scores, opening the comeback in injury time with Ollie Watkins shining. But according to FIFA referee Jonas Eriksson, “a crucial foul was missed” just before Dumfries tripped Kane.
FIFA referee points out his colleague's mistake when awarding a penalty to England team photo 2

The referee blew the penalty whistle amid the Netherlands' anger.

Eriksson, who refereed the 2014 World Cup and the 2013 European Super Cup final, pointed out that Bukayo Saka had handled the ball before the challenge that led to the penalty against the Netherlands. The referee therefore had to start from scratch. “I was surprised that they didn’t review it and overturn the penalty,” Eriksson said. “According to the rules, it was a penalty. In fact, there was a foul by England before that, so I don’t think it was a penalty for England. It was a clear handball (by Saka) and that meant there was no penalty for England.” Television replays showed the ball bounced off Saka’s hand before it found Kane. Speaking after the penalty, Dumfries told Dutch broadcaster NOS : "It was difficult. At the moment of the penalty, the ball was just in the middle and I wanted to block the shot. It was just a 50-50 collision. It was disappointing. I take responsibility for that. I didn't mean to do it, but it happened in a split second."

Tienphong.vn

Source: https://tienphong.vn/trong-tai-fifa-chi-ra-sai-lam-cua-dong-nghiep-khi-thoi-penalty-cho-dt-anh-post1653885.tpo

Comment (0)

No data
No data

Same tag

Same category

Son Doong Cave is among the top 'surreal' destinations like on another planet
Wind power field in Ninh Thuan: Check-in "coordinates" for summer hearts
Legend of Father Elephant Rock and Mother Elephant Rock in Dak Lak
View of Nha Trang beach city from above

Same author

Heritage

Figure

Business

No videos available

News

Political System

Local

Product